Dance Like Noone’s Looking

Last week, in class, we did jetés, for the first time. And it was such good fun! I can’t say that my technique was perfect, or that I didn’t nearly put a hole in the studio floor with my feet when I landed, but do you know what? I really, really enjoyed myself. I don’t think I’ve ever laughed or smiled so much in a ballet class before.

In my class, which is an adult beginner class, I’m the only bloke. I don’t mind at all. In fact, when we do slightly different exercises (men and women), I get 1 to 1 tuition from my teacher. Can’t argue at that!

I was slightly nervous and self-conscious when I very first started lessons, I am after all wearing tights! But now, I honestly don’t even notice it. It’s part and parcel of what we do, and honestly, if anyone else has a problem with it, then it’s their problem, not mine. For too many years of my life, when I was younger, I cared too much about what people thought. Obviously, I don’t mean that I would do anything to purposely upset anyone. It’s that if I’m doing something, and it’s not hurting anyone else, and it’s doing me good, then hell-yeah I’m going to do it.

So, when it came to jete’ing across the dance floor, I really did ‘give it some!’ No inhibitions, everyone else it doing it, everyone else is having fun, smiling, laughing, including the teacher, so what’s not to like? Why are there not more people doing this? Why aren’t there more blokes doing this? It’s really, really good fun, you get fit, you feel great doing it, no harm, no foul. What have you got to lose? Other than a few pounds. Ha ha ha. Yep, that should be my ballet for men slogan! Hey, maybe I’m on to something…

